Calendar

University of Virginia-Yarmouk University Summer Arabic Program

2015 Summer Calendar

NB: Classes at Yarmouk University are held Sunday through Thursday. Friday and Saturday are official Yarmouk University holidays (weekends).
 
Friday, June 05 Orientation in New York/Departure
 
Saturday, June 06 Arrive in Amman/Irbid
 
Sunday, June 07
  • 8:30-10:00 am Irbid and Yarmouk Campus Orientation
  • 11:00-12:00 Meeting Language Center Director & teachers (Refreshments and snacks)
Monday, June 08 8:30-11:00 Written Test
  • 12:00-2:00 Oral Interviews 
Tuesday, June 09 Classes begin
 
Wednesday, June 17  Beginning of Ramadan -- Tentative
 
Friday, June 19 1-Day Trip (Umm Qais, Ajloun & Jerash)
 
Thursday, July 02 Petra Trip (Depart Yarmouk Thursday at 11:00 a.m.)
 
Friday, July 03 Return to Irbid in the evening
 
Wednesday, July 15 Semester Break/Eid Al-Fitr (End-of-Ramadan Eid)
 
Saturday, July 19 [NOTE: Break starts after classes on Tuesday, July 14. Any travel outside of Jordan must be undertaken at the end of classes on Tuesday, July 14. No exceptions will be made.]
 
Sunday, July 20 Classes Resume
 
Thursday, July 30 Classes End
 
Sunday, August 02 Review Session
 
Monday, August 03 09:00 Final Examinations:Writing and Conversation Examination
 
Tuesday, August 04 09:00 Final Examinations: Listening, Reading and Grammar
 
Wednesday, August 05 10:00 a.m. Graduation Ceremony
 
Thursday, August 06 Depart Amman / Arrive in New York